Seven weeks post op bunion ectomy

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, I'm a newbie ! I had a bunion removed seven weeks ago today, I have had three physio sessions and having my last one on Monday, my toe is still very painful when moving and will not bend downwards,I'm still wearing my protective boot as the scar is painful to touch, is all this normal ?! Thanks x

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hey,

I maybe not the best person to answer this question as unfortunately a year later I'm still suffering from the operation. I unfortunately caught 4 infections and still not able to move my toe properly which has caused two slipped discs and me unable to walk. What I'm trying to say is don't go on the words of your physio if you're in pain please go back to the doctor. I did a bit too much too soon after my operation which caused me to have an infection. If you feel like your foot is a bit swollen and doesn't look good better to get it checked out. You do not want to be in the same situation as I am in. Hope I haven't scared you But I just thought it was best to let you know. If you need any other advice please feel free to reply to me. Many thanks

• Posted

Thanks for the reply xx I am the opposite, I did nothing but rest for the first ten days ! I also have a slipped disc which happened just before the op 😁, I think I will visit my doctor the week after the last physio session as I haven't had a follow  up X-ray, I did ask the physio if he thought I needed one, he said he didn't think so ?!
    • Posted

I expressed my concerns re scar pain with my surgeon before my op. He demonstrated why and how I have to massage the wound very early on with oil to loosen the scar tissue and to prevent painful scar tissue. Having said that pain is not normal and should allways be investigated. As I'm only 11 days post op I can't give any other advice.

• Posted

Thanks x My scar is healing really well, but yes I will talk to my doctor about it x
  • Posted