Severe dizziness

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi , I'm in kidney failure (chronic) and I take amlodipine 5 mg for high bp. I have been on it for about 2 months and thought I was doing okay. But in the past few days I have been having extreme dizziness and what I thought was a migraine. It is very hot where I live and I thought maybe the heat was affecting my blood pressure but now I'm not sure. As a retired nurse I should know what to do but I'm stumped. Should I stop taking it and hope for the best or continue it and have these horrible symptoms ?  My current bp is 160/90 and has gone as high as 200/110 before. Help please, any advice is appreciated.

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

Due to some doubts I had about my reaction to amlodopine I switched to lisinopril. As I am sure you are aware amlodopine is a calcium channel blocker, whereas lisinopril is an ACE inhibitor. They appear to have largely but not entirely overlapping uses for the reduction of bp. Wikipedia says dosing may need special care if there are kidney problems, but does not warn against ACE inhibitors in such cases. Anyhow, as you know high bp can damage the kidneys, so some means of bp reduction is necessary.
  • Posted

I would switch to a heart healthy diet and break my amlodipine tablet into smaller pieces, I take less than 2 mg. Also lower your sodium, make sure your medicine doesn't interfere. With your medical condition

• Posted

soshanah18578...You're a retired nurse therefore, you should at least have some idea as to what to do! DO NOT STOP TAKING THE AMLODIPINE WITHOUT YOUR DOCTORS KNOWLEDGE. The dizziness you're experiencing COULD be related to what's goin on with your kidneys. Also, when not well for whatever reason, the bp can elevate. 

We are all suffering with the heat/humidity, but when a person has an issue with an internal organ, they need special attention. By all means get in touch with your doctor. Good luck!!

• Posted

Hi Shoshanah