Shortness of breath

Posted , 8 users are following.

Anyone had shortness of breath getting worse ?? I'm 12 weeks in and it's I'm still getting it quite bad. I can run with no pain but it's the shortness of breath that is stopping me do anything. I'm sure the anxiety isn't helping. I spoke to my doctor he is giving me a ct scan and checking my lung function l.

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi james,

If you have been diagnosed as having pulmonary embolism shortness of breath can last for ages, I asked my  GP about the breathlesness as it' gets bad just showering, he said it can take 6 months + for  the breathlesness to go, I'm new to this P E myself so I hope this has helped you a bit. Take care

• Posted

Ok thank you. Just seems to be getting worse not better. I've got a pe in both lungs.

Take care

• Posted

Hi James,

Short answer is yes.  During my recovery my breathing capability has varied considerably. I am sure outside factors have an influence too, but I have no doubt some was down to the pe's scarring or whatnot.  I found recovery a bit stop/start, with improvements happening suddenly and quite long periods on 'no change' inbetween. I also found recovery period quite long.

hth. Pete

• Posted

Cheers thank you for the reply. Yah recovery for me has been all over the place guess some times this happens.
  • Posted

I don't think you're ready for running.  You still have clots taking up air space in your lungs. I had a leg DVT a few years ago and it took a couple of months for the clot to dissolve.  I've read in other posts that the doctor said it can take even longer for pes to dissolve.  Be patient. :-) 

• Posted

Ok thank you. I do hear people running after 2 weeks of having a clot. I started running a week after for 2 weeks then I started to get a tight chest. It wasn't intense just jogging for 20-30 mins.

• Posted