Should I wait it out...?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi - I'm a newbie & so glad I've found this forum!

I've recently been diagnosed with fibromyalgia which is believed to have been triggered by having an ICD implanted & some complications & further invasive procedures.

I've been on gabapentin for about 4 months. I have been increasing the doseage slowly. I'm now up to 900mg twice a day & 600mg once a day. I've had no problems at all on it.

However today I've nearly fallen over 3 times, my coordination is way off, my responses are slowed, I have blurred vision, dizzy head & can't walk without holding onto furniture.

I feel awful. After 4 months do you think this is side effects & how urgent do you think docs appt should be?

Thanks in advance smile

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Red Shoes. I had been prescribed Gabapentin for nerve and chronic pain / fibromyalgia. It was great at first as most drugs they have given me have been, but I had to quit taking it because I started to experience the same symptoms as you. I could not see - blurred vision, I fell in the shower due to loss of balance, pretty soon I was so depressed I just layed around all day doing nothing due to the disabling effects of Gabapentin. I think if you have not already gotten off of it that you should and they should switch you to Lyrica / Pregabalin  which can also be titrated. I hope you are feeling better. Debra wink
  • Posted

Hi.. I have fibromyalgia too.. and take 900mgs of gabapentin daily

and was wondering if you still drive and if so did you inform your insurance as I don't know whether too?

X

• Posted