Shoulder still useless after 3 procedures

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi, not sure what to ask on here but hopeful to get some replies on what I should do next.

Background; I am a dance teacher who has had problems with both my shoulders. Right one was sorted with steroids but my Left one has had in this order over the last six months: Steroids, Barbotage, Sub Ac Decompression (open surgery), Barbotage and STILL its not good.

I have a constant gnawing pain in my bicep that sometimes goes into spasm, I cannot raise my arm above shoulder level, I cannot take my arm behind my back and cannot lie on it either.

I am totally at a loss at what can now be done. I need full use of my arm for my work.

Any advice anyone? Thank you

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Edited

Hello:

I'd like to know what the professionals told you. What did your orthopedic surgeon tell you after the failed attempt to repair your shoulder?

Also, as a patient, it seems you have a right to choose another surgeon. If I were you I would get the best Sports Medicine Orthopedic available. Considering your livelihood depends upon your fitness it would be the wisest choice.

I'm against the use of steroid...all they seem to do is alleviate pain but in the long run can weaken/damage tendons leaving you open to future tears, damage and disasters.

Personally speaking, I had a bicycle accident and loss the use of my left arm like you couldn't raise it at all. I knew something was seriously wrong and had the mri, surgery and it was repaired. And I'm very active and athletic and happy that I have full function again.

Since then, and after another surgery for rotator cuff damage on my other shoulder, I've learned about this: