sick for over 30 years......test results negative

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have been chasing a cure for my illness for over 30 years....Cushings? MS? CFS ?  ?   I have had almost all the symptoms of Lyme except joint pain, so recently my husband thought maybe I have Lyme and wanted me to get tested, but the results are negative. I'm wondering if I should try to test again? My  integrative doctor suggested putting me on antibiotics for several weeks 'to break up the cysts' and maybe test again. I'm so tired of all this. I just want a diagnosis at this point so I can tell people it's not imaginary. Over the years I've prayed and researched and stumbled onto many of the supplements and herbal things that Lyme patients recommend, so I do feel quite a bit better than I used to. 

Is there a better time for testing? As in, should one test when one feels rotten, or on a better spell? Should you stop all supplements and antifungals for a while before testing? Is 33 years too long to expect positive test results?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Sorry you have been going through this for so long, it is very frustrating to say the least. I am in the same situation, tick bite in 1995 but lyme test came back negative so no treatment, just antibiotic cream for bite. Test repeated 3 more times over the years with worsening symptoms and alot of missed work. I just had blood drawn and sent to Igenix and really hope it comes up positive. You might consider using this test as it is supposed to be more sensitive and accurate than the others.

Rick

• Posted

I did use the Igenix test, but only their Western Blot test. I see they have many other Lyme tests, and Lyme-related (co-infection) tests. What I don't understand about your case is that you actually have the rash to prove it. More and more websites on Lyme say they don't even go by testing anymore, just symptoms. I would think that the rash is a big one, wouldn't you? 

• Posted