Side effects from Thyroxine

Posted , 111 users are following.

Hi, I am 32 and have just been diagnosed with an underactive thyroid. Been put on 50 mg but after about a week starting to get muscle aches, upset stomach. Did anyone else experience this? also feel really tired!

10 likes, 194 replies

194 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

hi, i'm really concerned about the above post, i am a fellow sufferer i was diagnosed at 18 and am now 32 and have been on thyroxine ever since, i take 125 mcg, my concern is (don't shhot me down) i'm a staff nurse and know alot about this condition and you can't just wean yourself off thyroxine, trust me there are severe dangers the worst being death. you can't replace it with a natural remedy, no matter what a herbalist tells you. i can't put it strongly enough without trying to scare you. you risk long term side effects with not taking your thyroxine including cardiac problems, coma..... i know the nhs is frustrating but don't risk your life, make a double appt with your gp and tell him what you are thinking of doing, that should make him sit up and listen.
    • Posted

Does the nhs prescribe Armour? most of my american friends tell me that suits them more than levothyroxine.
    • Posted