Side effects no likey!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi Folks, I've been taking Sertraline 50mg for two months and have been patiently waiting for the side effects to wear off: trembling, jaw clenching, jelly legs, general feeling of not wanting to get out of bed etc etc and they haven't. Talked to my GP he said try another month and then we'll discuss options. I've seen people's comments about alcohol and bizarrely I'm drinking more to try and relax - so that's not working out. I feel a bit better mentally but the overriding physical side effects aren't worth it for me. Has anyone tried switching brands to see if that makes a difference? Otherwise I'm going back to the docs and coming off them. Thanks.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sue

Sorry to hear you’re still getting sides. I’m no Doctor but if you’re drinking more that’s going to make your anxiety worse and will highlight any side effects.

My advice would be to just not drink and see how you go for a few weeks. I’d wager the physical symptoms will go.

I used to drink to help relax and whilst it might of for a couple of hours, it just make the anxiety worse the next day. Alcohol as you’ll know is also a depressant so will negate the medicines benefits somewhat.

• Posted

Hi Sue

It is unfortunately a waiting game, it took me 3 or so months before I started feeling the effect of the drugs. I had to literally drag myself out of bed to get out of the house and slowly and gradually I started feeling better. Now  a year on I am back to normal. Sure there are bad days but the good days far outweigh them. 

Hang in there and give us a shout if you want to chat

Regards 

STEVE 

• Posted