Sinclair method

Posted , 5 users are following.

Just wondering what experience people have had w the Sinclair method. Has anyone heard of new medications coming out soon for AUD? Wish I didn't have this problem 😢

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

It seems to be the best method for helping people with AUD.

But I'm no expert. RHGB and Paul J Turner will reply to you soon, and many others. They have the most knowledge and experience and will help you.

Love Tess xx

• Posted

Shannon, I was a daily drinker for over 30 years. TSM worked great for me. I started early in January and halfway through June started having back to back dry days. I used to bend everything around my daily 5pm drinking schedule. I largely don't think about drinking as of late. That's a huge difference for me. All I had to do was take a pill an hour before doing what I was going to do anyway (drink). Every month that passed, I was satisfied with less and less beer and now I'm largely satisfied with no beer at all. 

In France the government is getting behind Baclofen, which works via a different route than TSM, but might be just the ticket for some with Alcohol Use Disorder. I don't believe you'll get it on NHS though. If you're in the UK, you might get Nalmefene, Naltrexone, Campral or Antabuse, depending on your situation (from what I've read). Have a look at this, should help you begin to gather some facts together:

https://patient.info/health/sinclair-method-for-alcohol-use-disorder

Are you in the UK?  

• Posted

That is SUCH great news!!! I'm so proud of the both of you! 

• Posted

It's amazing! He's even got his diabetes under control. Many of his blood sugars are normal now!

Wow. I am sooooooooooooooo happy for both of us. We're awa' tae Scotland next week to see a bunch of McDonald relations who we've never met because Jim was brought up in a children's home and we (I) managed to contact ONE brother last October. There are millions more, apparently. Ah Canna' Wait.