Sleep problems and sweating

Posted , 12 users are following.

hi I'm new to this pmr having just started steroids almost 3 weeks ago, I see rheumatoigist next week to discuss how treatment is working I guess, anyway within a few days the pain and stiffness have gone with the exception sometimes in the mornings my upper back still feels rather tender but I do have restricted movement in shoulders due to frozen shoulders from 7 years ago so that could be the cause of that . I am pleased that the pain and stiffness have gone but I work in a shop and I am on my feet all day by the end I am aching and so tired I could sleep for a week the problem is when it's time to go to bed I struggle to get to sleep and toss and turn all night , I was so looking forward to a good nights sleep once treatment worked , I also find I sweat a lot this is different to the hot flushes I sometimes I get does anybody else experience this and have any remedies I could try to sleep please 

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Molly, a big welcome from me too!  The sweats are a nuisance and many of us experience them.  It can help if you try cutting down or avoiding coffee and alcohol, at least avoiding all caffeinated drinks (I even switched to decaf tea).  Also avoid spicy foods.  It will improve as you reduce the dose.
    • Posted

Thanks Mrs o I usually only have one cup of coffee a day usually mid morning and the rest of the time i drink tea but not to excess usually 2 or 3 cups a day at most ,I am trying to increase my water intake like most of us I don't drink enough but I think I will try decaf drinks now . I do like spicy foods also , I only have alcohol occasionally as I found that did make menopause sweats and flushes worse so will cut that out for this also . Oh the joys of getting older 
    • Posted

The only good thing about getting old is that you have lived a long time.😃😃😃
  • Posted

Hello Mollly