So afraid my Dr prescribed Enbrel

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am a vocal coach, and around about 30 students a week. I have developed Spondolyitis in my hips and my Dr prescriped Enbrel after a 2 month period of taking large amounts of Aleve and cortisone shots in hips and sacroiliac joint. I am terrified of the side affects. I teach voice all day and that is my income. I am afraid of getting sick and losing work but the pain from the arthritis can on some days be very depressing. Feel between a rock and a hard place. Can anyone advise? I would be very grateful!!!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

So many of us are dealing with these ailments that our grandmothers had and I don't know about you but I wasn't expecting to have to deal with this while I'm still working. Or ever I suppose.

Enbrel is a pretty powerful drug. I've been on it over a year and I feel really fortunate to have it. I'm capable again to do things that were slipping away from me.

Give it a try Tinabird. It should show improvement in a relatively short period of time.

Good luck with your students!

Em

• Posted

Thank you so much EM! This really came at the right time. I appreciate your sharing with me! I will give it a try. Baby steps.
  • Posted

I just recently switched from Enbrel to  Simponi.  My rheumy wants me to try  it only because Enbrel wasn't' taking care of the swelling that I have.  When first diagnosed I had horrible pain and I believe the prednisone dealt with that.  I have no more fatigue or pain.  I really don't believe I had any side effects from the Enbrel.  Everyone is different but I sure would give it a try!

Best of luck to you!

• Posted

BTW...I was on Enbrel for a year.
    • Posted