So sensitive to SSRIs how long should I wait?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I've been battling severe anxiety and PTSD for the past three years after a traumatic experience at work. I'm a high functioning professional and have worked in social work for the past 20 years. After a series of stressors and the creeping anniversary of the event, my anxiety got severe enough my psych thought it was time to start meds. However, I am ultra sensitive to SSRIs... We chose celexa because it had worked for me about 10 years ago during a stessful time in my masters program. She is a phenomenal Dr. and developed a plan for me to start on liquid celexa at 2mg.

On 3/4 I started the 2mg, 3/11 went to 4mg, 3/26 8 mg, 4/2 10mg (switched from liquid to tablets). I have had every side effect listed; jitters, high anxiety, insomnia, intrusive thoughts- you name it.

Currently at day 12 of 10mg and my anxiety is still SKY HIGH, I even had some depersonalization yesterday. I'm trying to remain positive and optimistic but this transition has been so hard on my body. I do have Ativan but try to reserve it for times when I feel I can no longer cope. I'm doing everything I can think of to power though, I work out, stay busy, still go to work, meditate, focus on gratitude (all of it) but I'm getting increasingly scared I'm on the wrong path and this might not resolve. I know I've only been on 10mg for less than two weeks but I was hoping for better results with the slow titration. I need some serious reassurance!

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

hi, im currently in the beginning stages of taking citalopram, and also experiencing the increased anxiety.