spotting.. is this normal?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have recently had problems with my tablets.. I had them increased to 100mg but I had a health issue which was blamed on the increase of tablets so I was advised to lower dosage again.. then I went to endocrinologist and he said it Def wasn't my thyroid tablets that caused the other health issues and he told me to start taking my 100mg everyday again which was about 3 weeks ago. From I have started to take them again I have been having light spotting between periods.. is this normal? Is in the change in hormone levels doing this? Plz help someone xx TIA

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Amanda,

I hate to think of you getting nowhere with this, so I would suggest you go to 'Unacceptable side effects of Levothyroxine' on this site, and ask the same question. Gill

• Posted

Hello Amanda:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse and I live in the USA.  I also have thyroid disease.  Before I was diagnosed with Hashimoto's Thyroid disease, I hardly had a period or it would be very short.

The thyroid helps to regulate your period.  When it is not working well, periods do not come or become irregular.  The thyroid sends out a signal to the ovaries called (FSH - Follicle Stimulating Hormone),  and whe the level is good a period will come.

When you take replacement hormone, the body can have "too much" and it can cause spotting to occur. Have you had regular periods before?

Another condition could be fibroids in the uterus.  You would need to see your OBGYN doctor and have that looked at. They can do an MRI or other imaging to see that.

Reduce the level by 25% and see if you feel better and it stops The doctors try different dosages but they don't feel the effects you do. 

Are you on Levo 100 MCG not MG?  Anyway it seems maybe you need a bit of a lower dose.

Stay well, let us know how you do.  Shelly

• Posted

Hi, thanks for your reply..