Started generic effexor may 2nd

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi there. I restarted generic effexor in May after two years of trying Bupropion and Celexa. They just didnt work. I'm inly on 37.5 mg's of Venlafaxine and i'm not sure its working and may need to boost it up. My brain seems to be experiencing the zaps and I just dont feel right mentally. Anyone have any ideas????!!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi John,

37.5 mg is a very low dose - I'm no expert but if you read the posts on here you'll see that most people start on 70mg per day and then increase slowly - I was on 70mg per day initially, and increased to 150mg per day after three weeks (slow release - much easier to cope with the side effects for me) Last time I suffered anxiety and depression I was on 225mg per day. Add to that the fact that it doesn't start to be effective for 6 - 8 weeks anyway, and I'm not surprised that you find it doesn't seem to be helping yet. The side effects can be pretty bad at first - "brain zaps" describes it pretty well, also it can (and in my case did) make the anxiety and depression worse for a couple of weeks - every time you up the dose - that's why it's best to start on a low dose and gradually build up. Stick with it though, it's tough at first but keep reminding yourself that it DOES get better and it is a very effective drug at the right dose. Wait until the side effects lessen maybe, then see your doctor and get the dose up.

good luck,

Mike

• Posted