Starting on citalopram

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I'm new to all of this but I have been reading through the comments and it's nice to know I'm not alone.

I have been taking 10mg citalopram for 7 days now, I'm not sure if I have noticed a change yet. I am suppose to increase to 20mg but am unsure as I don't want to experience any side effects. I've only been experiencing a groggy feeling in the morning, when I wake in the morning I'm in a weird dream where I think about all these terrible racing thoughts ( not sure if that's the tablets or my depression) and I have been suffering with restless leg syndrome. Just thought I'd share my experience so far..

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi lindsay92679, it can take long for citalprom to start working, sometimes 3 weeks or 3 months just depends with your body, and genes, side effects affect people different, try to read a leaflet that comes with the tablets, cheers feel free to chat on anything its a good site .
  • Posted

Hello! Well it's your decision to either keep on with the 10 mg for awhile longer if you want to but I've heard that 20 mg is the therapeutic dose for depression. I've been on Citalopram before and got off of it this summer and now I'm in a deep hole. I really need to go back on it but I'm scared of the side effects. It seems you've been having really mild side effects and I think that's good. They will eventually pass if you keep going. smile I think I should take my own advice! Haha. But I really hope you do get a benefit out of this med. If you feel no different, then that is a sign that you might need to dose up to feel better.
  • Posted

Hi Lyndsay,