Starting out on 50mg sertraline...can I take one tablet in 2 half's? ?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi, I'm completely new to all this so any advice would be extremely grateful... I've been feeling somewhat down and disheartened over the past 12 months or so, mostly due to me having what I think is a panic attack when driving, one minute I feel fine then I feel an overwhelming sense of fear coming on, lips start tingling, fingertips go numb and thenot I feel a strange feeling that I'm about to pass out, this has been going on for well over a year now on and off, until recently that I just feel dizzy and lightheaded all of the time, with no break from it whatsoever, and the headaches I get sometimes are unbearable, always behind my eye and no amount of painkillers killers eases them off, after visiting my GPS this week she prescribed me sertraline 50mg but I'm scared of feeling worse than I already do, so instead have taken 2 half's over 2 days... I feel like my whole world is in lock down! My head feels strange, my heart is racing and I feel so depressed! My head feels like it's constantly spinning, not to mention the tiredness on top too... if afraid if I take themy whole I'll feel so much worse than I do now... someone please help! 😢

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

hi there is nothing wrong with taking them in 2 halves instead of all in one go, so no need to worry about that

if you can put up with the start up side effects a little longer, perhaps in a matter of days to a week, they may start to ease down, and as the weeks progress, there is a good chance that all of the start up side effects will pass altogether

so try to keep going, but if it does turn out to be too much, go back and speak to your doctor and jsut let them know that you are having a lot of trouble getting started on sertraline

• Posted