Starting venoflaxine....confused !!!!

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all

I am new to the venoflaxine forum as I have been on the citalopram forum for 6 months.

I am due to start venoflaxine tomorrow at 37. 5mg and over a few weeks move up to 150mg. Having read posts on here I am left feeling very confused. Most of the posts are negative.....not all.....or are about withdrawal. I have done a lot of research and am aware this drug has a very bad withdrawal but if it works then that is a small price to pay. I am concerned about possible side effects and if they will outweigh the benefits.

I have severe post natal depression and anxiety. I am on mirtazapine 45mg and diazepam and am coming off citalopram to go on ven as it made me worse.

On the cit forum there are a lot of posts about starting up not so much here. Is that because there are less start up problems or less people on ven ?

Some have mentioned through therapy they have realised the meds are part of the problem. I ask them if they needed the meds to get to a place to see that.

I have been very I'll and am really hoping ven will help as I know other woman it has helped and they have reduced with no problems.

This forum seems very negative towards ven. Any ideas why this is ?

1 like, 29 replies

29 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi, I was on ven for over 7 Years. Honestly, I felt good while I was talking the medicine. No depression, moreover, it did not make me drowsy. Which is a bug plus in comparison to done other meds.

Problem is dependence upon ven. A single missed dose created minor symptoms. Having said that, withdrawal was a problem till I didn't go all out to stop ven. I cud successfully (in terms of taming withdrawal) do that couple of months ago. Now I know 1st hand that withdrawal is achievable with a strong resolve for 2-3 weeks. Though it's done, but now slowly mood dampness is coming back, that's a different story. Let's see how it pans out.

• Posted