Steroids and copd

Posted , 17 users are following.

Is it true that when copd is chronic you may have to take steroids all the time?

2 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I've been using Symbicort, a cortisone inhaler, for about 6 months and it's improved my lung function quite a lot.   I am however concerned about the long term side effects of cortisone
    • Posted

Evening jude65855

Symbicort was the first inhaler for copd apart from the salbutamol but the simbicort just caused me to keepgetting thrush & a swollen throat so was put on fostair & salmeterol then taken of salmeterol then later last month have been put on seretide do you or anyone else feel like a walking chemistneutral

• Posted

I'm assuming you do the mouth rinsng routine (and not swallow) after each use of the symbicort?   I haven't had a thrush problem with it, but then I also eat plain yoghurt every day.
    • Posted

I see well I would sometimes swallow straight after taking it when I was on the symbicort then rinse my mouth or sometimes just brush my teeth straight after (depending apon where I am in the house at the time as going up & down the stairs is a pain at certain times) not long after & have eaten live yogurt thinking it might help as it's good to eat but still kept getting the swollen throat & thrush so it was changed anyway as I was stil lcoughing quite a bit! I find cranberry juice helps as it's  alsogood at cutting down the bacteria & can help with preventing thrush  but might not for some people,

Thank you for your advice I'm grateful! So must make  sure we don't swallow straight after taking any inhaler & if possible rinse or brush teeth straight away! I will keep this in  mind smile

• Posted