Stomach flu dragging on? Diarrhea and nauseous upon waking up too early everyday

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi All! I’m on day 11 of what I thought initially was the stomach flu but not I’m not so sure. It started with really dry mouth and nausea and one incidence of diarrhea about two days after two of my four kids had the 24 hour vomiting flu. But it’s been dragging on now for 10 days and not really getting any better or worse. I just wake up every morning about 4:30/5/6 am with a fast heartbeat, queasy tummy that results in one time of diarrhea and then I feel nauseous for the rest of th day until dinner when I feel like eating a little bit. I go about my day pretty normally but when it comes to eat I’m just so nauseous! Any ideas on what it could be or how long symptoms can last? Thanks!! PS I’m super nervous that it could be some type of cancer and that I’m dying!!!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi!

Please do not be worried, I'm no doctor, but I can be sure it's not cancer.

I've experienced the exact same thing. Stomach flu which stretched for a period of 2 weeks. Exactly like you, I was waking up early in the morning and as soon as I did that, my stomach started rumbling and I had to hit the bathroom fast. I was feeling really nauseous as well most of the day.

What helped for me was avoiding fresh fruit and vegetables as much as possible, avoided sugary stuff, coffee, carbonated drinks, and foods which irritate the stomach, such as spicy food, really sour food etc. But the real change happened when I started eating lots of rice and drinking lots of peppermint tea. It really did the trick for me.

After that, I got better, but my case is a bit more complicated because I was also having stomach and lower abdomen pain. I was later diagnosed with gastritis and my doctor now suspects IBS as well.