Stomach issues

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all I am new to this page I am having some stomach issues which started in 2016 the issues are burning sensation either side of my gut just below my ribs aches lower back and just beneath my shoulder blade on my left side.

Bloating

Burping

Sometimes nausea

No vomiting

No diarrhoea

Had ultrasound

Endoscopy and a diagnosis of mild gastritis was given.

Had a colonoscopy a year ago year ago they've moved a polyp and I've had no issues up to now but now all the issues have flared up again.

In the past I've been prescribed ranitadine, Omeprazole and lansoprazole all of which made the symptoms worse.

So far the Dr's said gastritus then 6 months down the line they said IBS all I know is the issues are back and I'm struggling the Dr is now saying he's going to prescribe a different med not sure which one yet and to take gaviscon extra I'm reluctant to take meds and would prefer to find another way to handle my issues.

Would anybody be able to help please.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Edited

It sounds like as well as gastritis, you probably have IBS. The thing is with PPI tablets is they can make IBS symptoms bad and they can make it hard to absorb nutrients and as a result can lead to vitamin and mineral deficiencies which often affect your stomach. Try esomeprazole but at the same time take a multi vitamin and mineral tablet every day and also try a kefir yoghurt drink every day. If you can't get hold of the kefir drink ask your doctor to try the antispasmodic tablet alverine. Alverine really helps the side effects PPI tablets can bring.

• Edited

Hi thank you for the advice I'm taking a probiotic and a high strength vitamins D supplement. I can get the kefir drink so will give it a shot.

Nexium did help a little.

I have a Dr's appointment next Monday so can discuss.