Stomach unwell and heart palpitations

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello,

These past two weeks, I have been experiencing stomach pain, especially after eating, as well as heart palpitations from time to time. I have important work to do and deadlines to abide by, so could it be stress? If not, what is it then? How can I solve this problem?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hey Ella,

I'm not an expert on tummy trouble or a doctor, but I have been through the wars with my stomach recently and learned a lot about how stress can affect the stomach. When we're stressed we trigger adreneline and cortisol, which affects our nervous system and vital organs. We also divert blood away from our vital organs to our arms and legs, so the stomach slows down its emptying and its functiion generally. The stomach might also be clenched subconsciously which is causing you pain.

A few years ago it hurt everytime I would eat - it wasn't the symptoms I have now (acid reflux) but more like physical pain when I ate. It went away on its own over time and when I was distracted by other things. I had been under a lot of stress at uni then and my mum was recovering from cancer so I can testify that stress does some mad things to your body!

Heart palpitations can be caused by quick digestion, and I had an issue with this when my acid reflux symptoms started - my doctor said stomach acid was coming up my oesophagus and causing it to spasm. So although it felt like my heart it was my oesophagus.

I would go to your doctor and get a check done, maybe get some blood tests to rule out anything and to put your mind at ease but it sounds like this is a short term thing and you'll be out the woods soon! Good luck x

• Posted

Hi ella 2144