Stop telling me to exercise!

Posted , 7 users are following.

I used to be a competitive body builder 30 years ago until the fatigue had me falling asleep on the equipment. My point is I am not  afraid of exercise but FM has depleted my energy and created pain.   Most of the time I feel like I am fatigued and achy like I have the flu, yet my doctor and others have told me I need to exercise, I would love to see them exercise while they are in the midst of a bad flu! The problem is,  I feel like this 95% of the time. The other 5% of the time I feel like I am just a tired zombie. They tell me to lift weights again or go swimming. WTF? Go do that yourselves next time you have a bad case of the flu! I was in better shape than any of these nimrods before I got FM and loved exercising. I want to tell them all to go F off!!

2 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I know what you mean. I was dancing and exercising then one day I woke up in agony and it was all I could do to get out of the bed. I haven’t been diagnosed with fm but a lot of my symptoms seem to fit. I have to work as I live by myself and everyday is an effort. The gp said just ignore the pain and get on with what you usually do. I wish I could. Then she says you’re depressed. No I’m not I’m just p****d off that you’re not listening or helping me. I’m angry and frustrated that I can’t do the things I want but all they want to do is give me anti depressants.
  • Posted

Hi penelope53967

My name is Catherine and I too have fibromyalgia. I was diagnosed in November last year. Total shock!

I also exercised daily 7 days a week, running 3 times a week for at least 4 miles and brisk walking twice a day with my dogs. I collapsed at work after feeling really dizzy and not able to speak properly. I couldn't get the words out. Luckily I was a HCA at a medical practice so the Dr was called in I ended up being on the couch for 2 hrs and no was at stroke levels so ambulance called.