stopping quetiapine

Posted , 2 users are following.

has anyone stopped quetiapine safely and successfully , i have been withdrawing now for 3 months was on 150 mg a day now down to 25mg , not sure how fast to withdraw the last 25mg ,do ido every other day half the tablet for how long , anyone had any experience withdrawing ,

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi! I would love to ask you a couple questions about your experience on quetiapine.

1. why are you going down in medicine amounts

2. what side effects are you or did you experience

I am on it now and have been taking 25mg x2 every night for insomnia.  Would love to hear your experinces.

• Posted

thanks for your reply ,are am reducing my quetiapine as it doesnt agree with me , i have been on it for about 4 months started at 150 mg and have reduced down to 25mg once in the evening , i found that i could not function on it , i felt so tired all day it alsomade me feel sick in the mornings and to be honest i felt more depressed on it , since i have started withdrawing the side effects have felt the same on the lower dose as it did on the higher dose , i dont think this is the sort of drug you want to be on for insomnia as it is a psychotic drug and real should only be given to people with scitzo , and also is a hardcore drug and can be very hard to withdraw from , it defo knocks you out i think to much and its hard to function , hope this helps how long have you been on them 
  • Posted

Hi Terry, about four weeks. Im bipolar and ADHD the Quetiapine helps with my Anxiety and panic attacks.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!