Strange experience after quitting cold turkey

Posted , 7 users are following.

I've been drinking wine heavily since around 2012; first a bottle a day, then one and a half, then two and maybe a couple glasses after that. At parties, non-stop til I lose count.  Before that, for a good 4 years, I drank martinis, margaritas, scotch, etc. but in 2012, switched to only wine. Been tring to stop but decided to do it two nights ago.  I felt groggy and low energy the first day of no wine.  The second day, I felt tired as well but not much else, maybe a bit sharp with my husband.  Last night while lying in bed trying to sleep, I looked around and I could see things moving around.  Ordinary things bending and moving and sometimes sending out something like ropes or strings toward me.  Shadows on the curtains were moving and the ceiling fan looked like it was bending on the ends.  I sat up and looked then turned on the light; everything was fine.  Same thing after I turned off the light again.  Husband woke up, asked me if I was okay so I told him.  He said maybe it was because I took a lorazepam before bed for the first time in months. Anyway, I wasn't afraid cuz I thought it was effects from alcohol withdrawl.  I am on High doses of Wellbutrin and Effexor since 2001 for Social Phobia and Depression so maybe stopping will go better for me since I already take  meds?  I just wondered if these moving things all around me were due to alcohol withdrawl.  I mean, everywhere I looked, everything was moving but only in the dark. 

2 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

You should really consult a medical professional about this.

And if nothing else, this will at least put your mind at rest.  There is no-one here who can say if it was due to alcohol withdrawal, or maybe the lorazepam or the other medications you are on.  There are just too many variables due to your medications.