Sudden fear of driving - depersonalisation

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi there.

I would be really grateful for some advice.

I have been driving for almost 25 years and have always enjoyed it.

However, for some explained reason, about two weeks ago, I had to do a particularly long journey with my family and I just had to keep stopping. I just didn't feel right.

When I finally go to my destination, I was really freaked out and I spent the next few days in a sort of dazed feeling - i.e. it was almost like I was dreaming and nothing was real (something I have read is called derealisation).

The drive home was even worse as I could not shake this dreamy feeling and spent the whole journey just wishing that I were home but managed to get home somehow.

I was fine for a bit but then had to go on holiday and had a 50 minute drive to the airport and started to go into this dreamy state again. I spent the whole holiday worrying about having to drive back and indeed really struggled on the way home (it was pouring with rain and very early in the morning when I did).

Basically, I have suddenly developed a fear of driving.

I need to commute to work but the fear of having to do so is making me constantly unhappy - as soon as I am home, each evening, the thought of the next day's commute is always ticking away in the background.

The thing that worries me is that I seem to always seem to be in this constant state of derealisation, now. It is affecting my work, as I just cannot seem to concentrate.

The feeling of driving, when it is not real, is truly horrible - it seems like my vision is somehow going.

Any advice on what to do would be very much appreciated.

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Edited