Sue61 Terrified of THR

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello everyone I'm new to you all and so glad I've joined this group , I'm booked to have THR in 2 weeks I'm terrified and my anxiety is unbearable. I have so many what ifs going round in my head I can't think straight I'm so scared of everything I'm waking up in the middle of the night with so much fear , I know I have no choice I desperately need the Hip replacement well I need both replacing which is so hard to accept to say the least (I'm 61) and feel like my life has passed me by for the last 3 years . please help me overcome my fears I just want my life back and so want to do this . oh and I'm having spinal and sedation which also scares me I would appreciate any support SUE

1 like, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Edited

its normal to have fear , we all go thru it. even the dentist my worse fear... . thr surgery is a way to improve your mobility and your quality of life. sometimes we have to get thru the fear to find a treatment for the severe pain you have already suffered. it will all end and once you have your life back you will be glad you did.

• Edited

i had a left THR in April and it has been great. i was in hospital for 1 night only, they don't do day cases any more. i am now 5 months out from the op and walking near normal with no crutches or stick. i have tried and can run but the impact wasn't comfortable. i can go on long walks without pain, swim, surf, cycle, golf, etc. The op wasn't as bad as i thought and you just have to do your exercises before and after the op and make sure to take your painkillers. i can sleep on my operated side and my life is so much better.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!