Surgery & c5/6 foraminal stenosis

Posted , 23 users are following.

Hi all.

I'm new to all this so please bear with me.

I've recently been diagnosed with cervical stenosis with intermittant radiculopathy. I've seen a neurological surgeon who said if they operate it would deal with the tingling in my arm but not the pain in my neck, shoulder, arm and back. The pain is my main problem as its really affecting my life. He seemed to give very little solution to the pain. I'm on gabapentin, amiteiptaline, cocodamol etc but these are having little effe t. Does anyone know if surgery could cure the pain? If there is a cure I would rather look into it than continuing in pain and on pills that aren't working.

Any feedback would be hugely appreciated as I'm at a loss as what to do.next

Thanks Lori x

3 likes, 74 replies

74 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Lori:  Sorry to hear about your diagnosis and pain problems.  Is the pain constant or intermittent?  Is it aggravated by cold climate, physical or emotional stress, or all of the above?  How long have you had this condition?  Do you have other trauma or related injuries, such as whiplash or falls?

I got the same diagnosis as you in October.  I did not have as good a palette of medications as you describe, but do take Tylenol or NSAIDs, Tramadol (as needed, Hydrocodone (5/325) as needed, muscle relaxers (Methocarbomal aka Robaxin, or SPZM, an herbal formula), lorazepam for anxiety as needed, and Ambien for sleeping issues when the pain keeps me awake at night.  I also used an inflatable cervical traction unit I found on Amazon that costs $30 US (Instapark brand, Amazon part B00573S4KI).  It helped a lot at first.  I also have an inversion table, too, but it does not seem to help with issues related to C5-C6, but is great for lumbar and mid-back issues.