Switching from pregabalin to venlafaxine

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

I have been diagnosed with GAD and have recently been advised, by my doc, to swap from pregabalin to venlafaxine.

I have had a lot of complications coming off another drug, mirtazapine. So am apprehensive about changing again.

Has anyone done this swap and how was it conducted? What doses did you take and how long did it take you?

My doctor wants me to start taking the new drug at the same time that I am reducing the old one. Does that sound the same as other people?

Also how are people who are on venlafaxine getting on? Does it help for anxiety?

Thanks

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Andy. I can only speak for myself as I have some experience with Venlafaxine..I'm tapering off this drug at the moment, and it is hell for me. When I initially started on this, it did its job and lifted my mood significantly. Big problems when I tried to come off. I wasn't aware of the after effects and so wasn't prepared. I was so ill, shaking, shivering, hot, cold, crying like I've never cried before and migraines. I gave it a while and stupidly took a tablet just to stop the headaches. I've tried 3 times to come off it and I'm still struggling. All I can suggest is do your research, read everything you can find on this drug. Some people struggle, some don't, but I really did. There is a lot of imformation about this drug, so please read up on it. Good luck. Julia 

• Posted

Hi

I find venlflaxine very good for anxiety but i have never tried to come off it. Not sure about pregabalin.

Can i just ask what happened when you came off mirtazapine as i am about to start coming off 45 mg of it. What happened ? How fast did you taper ? How long till you recovered ? Sorry to answer with a question just am very nervous about it.

• Posted

Thanks Sarah.

It took me awhile to come off mirtazapine, up to 18 months. But that is just me. Generally I think it is considered an easier one to come off.