Switching to citalopram

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi smile So I'm kind of new to this, I've only been on antidepressants for a couple of months... I started on sertraline but it was making me worse, so I switched to citalopram, which is, fingers crossed, better so far...Does anyone else have experience of switching meds? I've heard that it happens a lot but I don't know how quickly the new ones are supposed to kick in...?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I don't have any experience of actually switching during treatment. However, I have had experience of the difference between Seroxat and Citalopram. Seroxat was much more diffcult to get used to and had the problematic effect of making me over-confident and inclined to do and say things I never would have done beforehand. Citalopram had far fewer problems and kept me on an even keel until I could cope well enough to come off it. It took about a month to get to that stage.

Best wishes

John

• Posted

Thanks for the information, that's really good to know smile

Hannah

• Posted

Dear Hannah

I am so pleased to have found your post. I think it may even help me to get out of bed today. I was on prozac for 5 years but it seemed to stop working. i came off it cold turkey for about 3 weeks and actually started to feel better. suddenly the depression came back so the doc put me on to Sertraline, i would say for 4 weeks i felt nothing at all not even bad side effects. After 7 weeks i suddenly crashed into awful depression, the worst that i have ever had, infact i have been in bed now for 2.5 weeks and cannot stop crying or having dreadful thoughts. The doc stopped my Sertraline 5 days ago and now wants me to go on to citalopram, i am scared stiff to do this. I just realy want to know how you are feeling now and how long did the citalopram take to work. I can't believe i am writing in these forums i feel like a drug adict.

• Posted

Hi Beth,