T3 testing by GP?

Posted , 7 users are following.

I have been hypothyroid for 15 years with hashimotos . Endless issues with fluctuating levels and other problems such as low iron and vit d. I have recently asked my GP about T3 testing and she has referred me back to endocrinologist, however she said in refer real letter that she didn't think I needed to have T3 checked???? I have never had it checked before but wondered if anyone else had this done by GP or had this kind of response to request? Thanks

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello...this is my first time to triple to any posts but I have used much of the advice. After 15 years of being hypo I seemed to get worse with joint pain and much fatigue. I finally begged my endocrinologist to test my t3. Results showed I needed help with it. She lowered my synthroid from 137 to 100 and added 5 Cytomel twice a day. I have been on this for4 months...have no joint pain...sleep all night...and can work a 10 hour day with no problems!!! Best of luck to you. Sounds like you're on the right path.
    • Posted

Thanks for your reply, sure that I wasn't only one who had been in this situation. Feel that gps think you are being hypochondriac, or have psych problems etc! One was quite offended when I asked her how much she knew about thyroid disease as she told me there was no link between low vit d and thyroid function. Hey ho, will keep plugging away. Do normally get sense from endocrinologist . I too have low energy, poor activity tolerance, joint pains, aching muscles. Will see how I get on,gps just make you feel you are being unreasonable when just want to feel well. 
  • Posted