Taken too many Senna tablets

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello I am a bit worried as I have taken 11 senna tablets over the last 2 days after misunderstanding the dosage. I haven't been to the toilet yet but really worried about what is going to happen over the next few hours, is this dangerous? Thanks

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Christine. What dosage instructions were you going by? In answer to your question, it depends on the cause of your constipation and length of time. I am not a doctor and senna is readily available over the counter so I don't think overdose is life threatening but I should imagine you will probably get some intense stomach cramps and providing you don't have a blockage, you will probably have lose bowels for a couple of days. Try not to worry as worry will only make symptoms worse. I am sure you will be ok but if your unsure or experience anything alarming like vomiting or bleeding then go to the doctors or hospital.

• Posted

Thanks for that Gabriella, I thought I was supposed to take 2 every four hours so had 8 yesterday and I had another 3 today before I realised you are only supposed to take 2 a day!! I have been constipated for a few days now as I am currently taking co-codomal and one of the side effects of that is constipation. I guess I am just in for an uncomfortable night then, just needed to know whether it is dangerous or not xx
    • Posted

I think you're going to be fine just try to make sure you're near a toilet and don't plan to be far away from home xx

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!