Taking a break from work?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to this in every respect so please go gentle.  

I've always been a nervous person, from being a child I worried more than the average kid. So I guess it’s in my make up.  Anyway, for the past few years I’ve suffered from a low mood and fairly constant anxiety which is mainly related to work rather than other parts of my life.  I finally gave in last week and saw the doctor and was prescribed citalopram 10mg moving up to 20 in a few days now.

Overall I’ve had some side effects like dizziness, forgetfulness, lower mood and making a few mistakes at work. Not noticed any benefits yet but i know its early days. But I’m slightly concerned what will happen when I up my dose.

Generally I have a fairly stressful job in that I have demanding clients I’m responsible for multiple deadlines each day which could change in a moments notice.  This obviously doesn't help matters.

My question I’m trying to weigh up now is do I give myself a break from work for a week or so to let the meds settle in and generally try and recover? I'm conscious that it might make going back to work harder after and make the issue worse and what if i dont actually get any better...Or could be easier to go back and face work as the meds could have kicked in.

Also I’m torn between telling my employer about this or not.  I know I can self cert for a week but I don’t know what is best in the long run.  There is still a stigma around mental health and given the high pace stressful nature of the job I’m not sure they will be very sympathetic.  Or is it better just to be upfront?

It would be great to hear if anyone else is or has been in the situation.

Thanks,

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hey John,