Taking unprescribed 20mg Citalopram for anxiety

Posted , 3 users are following.

Ok, so essentially I'm a performing musician and I have a big gig coming up next week. My friend who is on prescribed 20mg citalopram has given me two of his tablets (I asked him) to deal with the horrendous anxiety I get whilst on stage.

I have taken prescribed 10mg citalopram before over the course of one month, which was a couple years ago now. This was to deal with my depression (I didn't see any improvement). I still suffer from it now, but have luckily started to see progress over the past month or so without the aid of drugs.

I had no side effects from the 10mg dosage and was wondering whether it would be safe to take the 20mg to deal with the anxiety. I've got two tablets off of my friend so I could test it out before my big performance, and obviously if it works, I can take the second.

What are people's opinions on this? Would appreciate any advice.

Thanks.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

You could try it, but it's a bit pointless as that class of drugs takes weeks to have any effect (which is why it didn't work for you before) so any amount is not going to make you feel calmer immediately. If it does work it'll be because of a placebo effect – because you believe it does (worth trying?). Personally I think it's better in these circumstances to let the adrenaline carry you through – otherwise you don't learn to deal with the situation and always think you need medical help. I live with someone who used to throw up with terror before every performance but he's had lots of practice and now he's completely calm.
  • Posted

As sue73 says, a couple of days worth isn't going to do anything (except maybe give you jaw clamp) cheesygrin What you need is Propranolol smile
  • Posted