Tantalum

Posted , 5 users are following.

Has anyone had or have heard of tantalum allergy? My neurosurgeon is considering the alloy tantalum since I was allergic to nickel for my surgery and was wondering since I don't know if there is a test that exists for tantalum and since I heard it was an inert.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hopefully you have already received an answer to your question of 5 months ago. I'm a medical writer (not a doctor) who will retire in a few days after 32 years of writing scientific articles in the dental industry. Anyone with a suspected metal allergy should first be cleared by an allergist before receiving a metal implant. While tantalum and titanium are both highly passive (low liklihood of triggering an immune response), and are often substituted for patients allergic to other metals, there are reports of allergic reactions to tantalum and titanium in the medical literature. In fact, all metals may potentially trigger an immune response in different patients. Best wishes for your condition.

• Posted

Hi

New one on me. I'm allergic to nickel. Found out just how sensitive when wearing a piece of jewellery containing nickel. Embarrassing, I had a cross shape burnt into skin! Too sore to cover up. If I come across anything about Tantalum will pass it on. I can ask a general question in the other forums I belong to.

• Posted

Hi again. I've had a quick Google. There are a few medical articles about people having reactions to Tantalum when it has been used in surgical implants, urticaria being one reaction mentioned. Hope this helps

• Posted