Tapered Off Cymbalta to Fast?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I was diagnose as having Post-traumatic demoralization syndrome (PTDS)  and Anxiety/Panic Attacks. I have been experiencing this since the age 16. "I am 29 yrs old now. I currently see a therapist and attend groups.

I have been doing good with not having major panic attacks. I would  become very anxious time to time but nothing I couldnt handle. I thought I was ready to begin tapering off of cymbalta. I use the count bead method. Ive been doing this for 7 months. I think I am going to fast because yesterday I had a major attack. 

I have been questioning myself. Am I really ready to be off this? Am I tapering to fast? 

Have any of you try to taper off your medication and if so, did things become worst?

Maybe my body isnt ready..I just dont know.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi

What's the count bead method? How quick does that get you cutting down? Jo

• Posted

Cymbalta comes in 20 mg, 30 mg, and 60 mg capsules. 

Cymbalta is tricky to taper. It does not come in liquid form and cannot be compounded into a liquid. To protect the drug, each bead inside the gelatin capsule has an enteric coating to protect the drug from stomach acid, which would destroy the drug. (It is absorbed further down in the digestive tract.) The pellets cannot be dissolved in any liquid without destroying the active ingredient.

You cannot crush the pellets  or dissolve them in a solution -- the drug would never get into your system, it would be destroyed in your stomach and you would have immediate cold-turkey withdrawal.

Of course, the range of dosages from the manufacturer is inadequate for very gradual tapering.

Reduce by 10% per month to start

As with any neurologically active drug, a conservative taper is the safest way to go off Cymbalta. Some people find they can go faster and some people find they have to go slower -- they can only tolerate decreases of a fraction of a milligram at a time.