Tapering off Nurofen Plus

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi,

I just wanted to share my story and maybe get some advice.

I have begun to taper off Nurofen plan (codeine/ibuprofen) like many others I found myself dependent on the medication after I began taking it for recurrent headaches.

At the most I was taking 14-16 tablets per day. This dependency crept up on my over a period of 8 years.

I am in Australia and began tappering just after christmas as I knew the new laws would see me not being able to continue - even though I really wanted to stop for a long time anyway.

Going CT was not really an option for me as I am a full time working professional with a family. My husband is aware of my problem and very supportive.

At the start of January 2018 I was down to 10 tablets a day, I then decreased this to 8 tablets by the end of January - I was hoping to be well off them before the new laws come into effect but it was alot harder than I thought.

I ended up having to go see my GP and come clean, although she did seem supportive, I left the Dr office feeling a little deflated.

I ended up going to see another GP in the same practice and he was amazing. Very supportive and understanding. I have been given scripts for 30 tablets at a time with no repeats, they last time I say this GP he took a copy of my diary as proof that I am tapering off these nasty things, hence the need for a script.

As of last week I was down to 6 per day, then a couple of days later I went to 4 and yesterday I only took 2 1/2, today so far I have only taken 1.

I actually think I can do this... Im just wondering now if I will be able to make the jump CT from here...

My hardest part of the days are when I first get up in the morning and when I try and go to sleep.

Reading these forums has been a huge god send as it was comforting to know that there are other people out there with the same problem.. 

Good luck to everyone trying to beat this :-) xx

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies