TAR surgery in near future

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've read the ankle replacement forum for some time now (about 20 pages worth).  My wife had a tri-malleolar break four+ years ago.  The cartilage is gone.  She's a candidate for TAR, and has investigated two docs here in Virginia:  Dr. Cooper at Georgetown and Dr Schipper at Anderson (Schipper operates out of Inova Fairfax).  Cooper performs the STAR replacment; Schipper installs the Infinity.  I would be very grateful to hear from those with personal experience -- which hospital is better, which surgeon, which system.  She (and I) are tending toward the Infinity because it is a fixed bearing system. I did do some research on the Zimmer system -- the significant improvement might be the highly crosslinked poly as opposed to the ultra molecular poly alone (for the spacer), but I'm not an engineer nor a doctor...just doing due diligence.  Thanks for responses in advance - John.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

I am also moving towards a TAR using Infinity but in Atlanta. It is best to make sure the surgeon has done at least 100 TAR's or more and get testimonials.  And then trust God for the rest

I about killed myself doing research about TAR's and in the end have delayed it now hoping for a natural healing or "holding".      I wish you the best and will pray for you and all TAR folks

David

• Posted

Well dave I had tar In 2017 actually twice on same foot they called it a revision I had a star put in. To be honest if I had it to do all over again I would never have done it. Doc told me I would be back to work in six months well I just got approved for premnate disability I am 57. It changed my life forsure 
    • Posted

So sorry to hear of your bad outcome. That truly sucks. No way to have it redone by a different surgeon? 😬

• Posted