Tax credits to universal credit

Posted , 5 users are following.

helpppppp. ... I've been claiming working and child tax for several years now and I was off sick from work I was told by advisor at job center that to claim my earnings that I lost ( aas my work wouldn't pay me ) she told me if I apply for UC I'll be able to claim back my loss off earning however she never informed me that this means you loose tax credits etc, so when I went to job centre today to do a i'd check i was then told that tax credits would stop I was distraught I suffer from mental health so can't go any changes and I've been informed by tax credits that this is right they recieved information 20 min àfyer I left job centre that I'm claimingg UC now ! Is there any way I can have this reversed ? a dont want ro claim any benifits jyst want my tax credits to stay the same I pat child care and everything I'm demented please some one help I've been mislead info thanks l.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I'm sorry to bring you had news but as you asked to claim because you had no earnings you were correctly advised to claim UC.

Now that you have you Can not go back to tax credits as due to change in your circumstances the tax credits will be the wrong amount.

You can only go on with your UC claim, tax credits are being replaced by UC and will no longer even exist in the future.

I wish I could give you better news xx

• Posted

Hi,

I'm not sure why you were told that you could claim the earnings you lost by claiming UC because this certainly isn't correct. Only in the most extreme circumstances can UC be backdated for just 1 month. As you were claiming tax credits then your UC will not be backdated.