Teaching with FM

Posted , 6 users are following.

Is anyone else teaching with FM? If you are, did your head make any adjustments for you? I've been off twice this year for apps three weeks each time and am worried about how exhausted the job is now making me,but I can't go part time or leave. It's not really a job where you can stop in the day if you need to!

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sparklewhizz, I'm sorry but I can't give you any advice, only sympathy. I was a teacher but I took early retirement five years ago at 55. The job is a nightmare when you are fully fit and it's becoming more and more demanding if that's possible. Teachers are leaving the profession in droves. Those who doubt just how horrendous the workload is should try it for themselves for a term before they criticise. Having only recently been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism and Fibromyalgia, I would say that teaching would be impossible. Since retiring I have enjoyed working one morning a week, on a voluntary basis, in my local school but now have had to give it up as I feel too unwell. Sorry I can't offer anything other than empathy at the moment but know that I wish you well and hope you can find a solution. 
  • Posted

Hi Sparklewhizz

I teach in an FE College. I teach Maths and English and it's very full on! I had to go on sick in March because I couldn't function, it was a 30+mile drive to work, and that was difficult, then standing and teaching I found so painful and exhausting, apart from my issue with the fibro fog, when I couldn't remember what I was saying - not the best approach with a class of 16 year olds. I tried to change my work regime so that I could just stay on one campus and not have to travel an extra 25 miles 2 days a week and reduce my actual teaching day, but unfortunately it wasn't possible, so my GP signed me off completely.

I am not sure what will happen in the next few months, but I suspect I will need to see OH, that will also mean a 30+ mile drive!!