Terrified of DVT

Posted , 4 users are following.

Ok so about a month ago, my right lower leg started aching below the knee for 2 days only at night. Then my whole calf area started feeling tight and achy especially around the right side of the lower part of my right leg. Now for about a week and a half, I’ve been having like really bad pain around the buttocks area whenever I get up and walk around, it’s like a sharp pain that can get achy, especially after I sit for long periods of time. I’m 18 and don’t have any dvt risk factors other than the fact that I’ve lived a pretty sedentary lifestyle this summer. When I went to the doctor two weeks ago, she didn’t think it was dvt at all, but I’m scared it is. 

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Did she mention sciatica? That is what it sounds like to me but I am no medical expert.  If you are worried though go back, I had no risk factors, they have no idea what caused my DVT, I was active, I went to the hospital minor injuries with it and they said it was not a dvt but it was. 
    • Posted

I had a hard area in my calf, it was red and painful to the touch. They said it was nothing to worry about a minor clot not in a surface vein, they gave me antibiotics as they said it could get infected otherwise and that it would get worse before it got better.  Well it did get worse and I foolishly didnt go back because of the advice they had given me, I ended up three/four weeks later in Stoke Mandeville.   The pain you describe in your buttocks is typical of sciatica.  
  • Posted

Hi. If you have any concerns go back. My daughter was 19 and the only thing they put it down to was the combined pill. 

Hope all goes well. 

• Posted

Hi Alex

It started with a pain in her groin which she put down to sleeping in a funny position on the plane ( she did a long haul flight)

Then her leg started to swell and went a really weird  purple colour and she felt like she had pins and needles.