Terrified. Possible PE?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello there some of u might know me already I've posted of this blog before.. I am currently dealing with sharp chest pain and shortness of breath... And light headedness also .. I am 11 weeks pregnant so j know that puts me at risk for pulmanry embolis.. I've had 2 chest cts in the past and d dimers all normal. I told my Dr about my concerns and all he did was listen to my lungs and said they sound clear .. I'm 20 years old and terrified ?? anyone with any help?

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hey Alex, I’m not a doctor but I do suffer from anxiety because pretty badly and these symptoms can also be caused by that. The anxiety can cause you to overbreathe causing pain in the intercostal muscles, the overbreathing can also cause lightheaded ness, tingling in the fingers and a whole load of other symptoms. I am NOT saying this is what it is but anxiety is mean and mimics a lot of other things like a pe or heart attack which then causes further anxiety which will make the symptoms worse. If you really are worried it’s a pe go back to your Dr but read up on anxiety also. I find buteyko breathing really helpful. Good luck xxx
  • Posted

Hi Alex,

Most often, if you have chest pains when you have PEs, you would experience a sharp stabbing pain every time you breathe in.  It is also pretty relentless and impossible to do anything, even impossible to lie down.

Pregnancy is a risk factor, but if you have had one without PEs, it doesn't sound like you have a genetic disposition for clotting.  A member of my family does and she was put on thinners right at the outset.

Like someone else said on the other thread - you can have a blood test (d-dimer). 

PEs are not that common, especially in someone so young. They are most likely to happen with some kind of outside influence (genetics, surgery, some illnesses, accident etc.).