Test results advice please

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello

This is my first time here, please be gentle with me biggrin

I was first diagnosed with an underactive thyroid about 10 years ago, I have been on 75mg of thyroxine for most of that time. But I have never really felt any improvement in my symptoms. I have always been the type of person to accept the Dr's word without question.

Lately I have been doubting that my medication is working so have been googling a bit and learned so much about my condition!

I convinced my Dr to test my free T3. These are the results

serum TSH level     2.32 mu/l

serum free T3 level 4.7 pmol/l

For some reason T4 wasn't tested, my previous result (May 2017)

serum TSH level   0.89

Do you think my T3 is at a good level?

Joanne xxx

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Even if your levels are “normal” if you don’t feel right, then they may not be right for you. Talk to your doctor about how you feel. If you din’t feel they get it, go to a different doctor and keep going to a different one until someone listens. When it comes to thyroid issues, I feel each person should be treated as an individual and not by the book. Many doctors want to treat based on only test results and aren’t willing to invest the time to work with their patient to try different meds and doses to achieve optimal results for that person. 
  • Posted

No think your FreeT3 isn't good why? Because you have same result as me (I'm on 150mcg) except my TSH is supppressed a lot more. I cant function my best but take supplements etc.

But.want an increase. I was on 200mcg with lot higher FT3 felt better. Get your increase now before your TSH gets lower and the docs dont want to increase. Dont take vit B7 BIOTIN 24 hrs or more before testing or youll really have problems.

• Posted