Testing for D3 level

Posted , 5 users are following.

My Ophthamalogist just ordered a D3 test. I was surprised, as I am always out in the sun. I am a Nurse, so I looked this up and discovered that he must be thinking SARCOIDOSIS. This affects the eyes (Blurred vision, Sensitivity to light, Eye pain and itching, Burning and redness, Tears, Inflammation), and you can develop Granulomas. I actually have 3 Pyogenic Granulomas on my leg, abdomen and chest, recently. This finally makes sense. My instincts were telling me that there was some underlying disease process going on and this wasn't simply dry eyes. For years I have known that I have Lagophthalmos. My eye lids don't close all the way when I close my eyes, which contributes to dry eyes.  I just wanted to share this with others who might be thinking that they don't simply have dry eyes.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Thanks for sharing Tara.  Luckily for me I think I just have dry eyes. Hope all goes well with the treatment.
  • Posted

My dry eyes have to do with inadequate tear quality. Nobody seems to know how to deal with that other than to give me drops to put in. That just exacerbates the condition .... Surely something so simple must have a solution??? One would think, huh? .... Perhaps we don't complain enough? 😜
    • Posted

There are ways other than drops, but if drops are exacerbating the situation you may simply have the wrong drops.

I went through about 15 before I found those that worked for me and I now alternate between five different drops and use them as frequently as I feel the need.

Alternatives could be a course of Restasis (didn't work for me but does for many).

Or punctual plugs as a last resort, where they plug your drainage ducts so what tear flow there is last longer.

Speak to your GP/ophthalmologist.

Good luck!

• Posted