The Dive

Posted , 4 users are following.

Alright folks, I'm new to the diverticulitis game. So I want to know, when you had your first attack: a) did you have sore glands and b) did it more than one round of antibiotics to feel normal again. I started feeling better after the first 10 round and about 10 days later I was right back where I started. Now I'm at the beginning of another 10 round of antibiotics. Does get better? And what the hell can I eat at this stage?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi and sorry you are part of our group. Hopefully this will be your only attack.

Yes, I have sore groin glands when I have a flare and this past attack I did two rounds of antibiotics.

As for what you can eat google low residue diet and use the Mayo Clinic guide as it is most comprehensive.

Chew your food really well and stick to small meals. Rest lots and don't increase your fiber too fast when you start to go back to a more normal diet in several weeks. You want to make sure you have rested your colon for a long time so you don't re-inflame it when you start adding fiber back in.

Good luck and I hope you start feeling better soon and that we never hear from you again because that will mean you only had the one attack.

Julie

PS drink lots of water.

• Posted

Hi