Thoughts from a PMR “survivor”

Posted , 25 users are following.

Dear PMR sufferers

I am a 48 year old male who recently recovered from PMR ( unusually young and wrong gender, yes I know! ) and I came back into this site just to give a personal perspective to those still suffering . Many readers are often recently diagnosed and looking for answers or hope, it’s not often that a “survivor” comes back to report that there is life after PMR, so here I am.

Firstly,I’m not a doctor, I’m an engineer so don’t attach any more weight to my views than you would do to any other non medical expert, feel free to assume I may be the village idiot and NEVER act on my views without discussing with your doctor. Right, now that that’s out of the way let me tell you I know what it’s like to have PMR, first the mysterious shoulder pain rolling over in bed, then the worry and confusion  , gradually increasing stiffness , can’t tie my shoe laces , feel irritable and exhausted , overwhelmed , visit GP, referred to rheumatologist , rounds of blood tests ....terror that it’s alll sorts of worse things, then finally the diagnosis by elimination it’s PMR ,ok now we can do something, ,then the magical effect of steroids, often overnight, amazing effect, WOW I go from half dead to feeling perfect in 12 hours ...hurray I’m cured ? , no not yet,then maybe a degree of depression that this is not an overnight fix or worries about side effects of “pred”., osteoporosis , mood swings , weight gain, acne,hamster face ... I’ve had it all and come out the other side, it took me exactly 36 months but I followed the rheumatologist’s regime and had a few false dawns along the way  where I had to up the dose again but I got there in the end , it’s been 9 months now that I’ve been off the pred, the pain is gone, there is some residual stiffness in the morning or after exercise but it goes away midday or after a hot shower . Life has returned to normal or as close as it can be, I still take the calcium/vitD