Thoughts on Proton Radiation? I'm 56. Gleason of 3+3

Posted , 7 users are following.

Diagnosed in April. MRI done, consult with three doctors. One recommended RP. Two recommended Proton Therapy.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Your best option is probably Active surveillance. I say probably because I don't know your specific circumstances (and I'm not a doctor). If you are not experiencing any urinary problems, and your cancer is located in an area not likely to spread, then you might be better off with active surveillance. Eventually, because of your age, you will probably have to take some other action in the future. But by that time, perhaps they will have new and better options or have perfected the options they have now so the side effects will be even less.

From what I have read, RP would probably be over treating your situation. From what I understand, regardless of the radiation treatment available, they will all cause some amount of impotence five years after the surgery. (In most cases, Impotence does not show up right away with radiation treatment).

If I were you, I would check into focal laser ablation (FLA) or high intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU).

Just my thoughts. I'm not a doctor and I don't know your specific situation. I've just done a lot of research because I'm in the same situation as you.

• Posted