Throat problems and twitching

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi all, I'm new to fibromyalgia and to this forum. I was diagnosed a couple of months ago and am finding it difficult to accept as I've always been healthy. I have some strange symptoms and would really like to know whether anyone else here experiences these. 

My throat feels swollen, think it is the muscles in my throat and neck - they feel tight/swollen on the inside and outside. My swallowing seems to be affected - I tend to choke on liquids and occasionally a small piece of food gets stuck and I have to swallow several times to release it. I'm quite worried about this - I suppose I'm wondering whether this is fibromyalgia or something else that hasn't been diagnosed?

I am also experiencing muscle twitching all over my body - jaw, hands, legs, throat, chest and stomach muscles. The twitches are mild and not painful but they bother me. 

I would really appreciate if others could share their experiences of symptoms like these. 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi sorry to hear you're suffering.  I got diagnosed 18mths ago. I don't get the throat problems,  but I do get the twitches.  Also tinnitus,  as well as the usual aches pains and tiredness etc. I have found positive thinking helps. My symptoms are always worse on a down day. Its hard to talk to non sufferers about it as they can't understand how bad you can feel physically and mentally. Go back and talk to your Gp. Xx
    • Posted

Thanks for the reply. I agree that positive thinking helps, hard to always be positive when you are an emotional woman :-) For me, I find sleep is the biggest factor in how I feel. I am a little embarrassed about how often I have been to my GP this year. I told him about my throat problems and said it could be due to allergies - I don't agree as I've never suffered from allergies before.
  • Posted