THS is normal; doctor won't do any further testing

Posted , 3 users are following.

This is my first time posting in a forum but I'm so frustrated, I don't know what else to do. I have been feeling really off, physically, lately. I went to my PCP cause of a headache that has been consistent for the past 3 weeks but I had other health concerns too. After stating the headache was a migraine period, she order some blood tests. I hadn't had any done in 2 years. She mention tests for diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis and thyroid. While waiting for the results, I did some online research and realized 95% of my symptoms suggested hypothyroidism. I took quiz after quiz and several symptom checkers and they all pointed to the same thing. My tests came back and I was told all looked normal and that was it. I was slightly shocked; she didn't even request I come back in for a follow-up to see if I was feeling any better. I obtained a copy of lab results and immediately saw on them my cholesterol numbers were high; they were through the roof. Nothing was mentioned about them. Then noticed the only thyroid test done was TSH. I asked if some others should be done but she said there was no need my TSH was within the normal range. It was 0.854. The results didn't warrant any further investigation. Period. After reading that TSH testing isn't the only testing for hypothyroidism and cases can be missed, I feel some depressed and confused. Does anyone have any advice or should I just accept feeling crappy for the rest of my life.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted