THS levels

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have a THS level of 2.36. Is this bad?

I was put on Levoxyl last week. 75 mg.

Is there a reason for me to be concerned?

Will I forever need to take this, or like

Cholesterol can you get off them once at a normal range?

Thanks, Maggie

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Margaret,

Your Tsh is within the normal ranges (not sure of the exact ranges but I think it's something like 0.5-4.5) I'm sure someone else will confirm this.

It depends on your situation, some hypothyroidism can be temporary but for a lot of people it's for life. Do you know the cause of yours?

I was put on levothyroxine eight years ago and now coming off it after they failed to identify any definitive reason for me to take it. There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with my thyroid.

Even things like viruses/pregnancy/hormone imbalances can cause it

• Posted

Hello Margaret:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

TSH should be between 0.45 to 4.50 and at 2.36 you are doing very well.  Most doctors like the TSH above 1.0 to 3.0.  Was your TSH higher before?

Thyroid meds are for life unless it is a thyroiditis which is caused by pregnancy or a virus.  We have to have proper levels of the hormone or we eill experience bad symptoms like weight gain, sleepy feeling, cold feelings, muscle aches and pains, brittle nails and dry skin, bruising, depressed feelings.

If you have not been feeling symptoms then you may ask your doctor why you were placed on the hormone.  Most of us have had symptoms first and then they draw the blood.

In time say 3 months they will draw more blood to see what your TSH is.

If you feel fine then ask the doctor why you were placed on Levo.

Any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

Shelly 

Mind if I ask you a few questions?