Thumping sound in ear

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello all, 

I have been experiencing a thumping noice in my left ear for the last couple of days which seems to be in rythm to my footsteps/running and happens occasionally I also have started experinceing wooshing sounds in my left ear when I am in bed which sometimes disturbes my sleep. I do experience mild tinitus. Does anyone know what this could be and if so how long this could last.  

Thanks

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi there,

I'm not a professional but I suffer from Menieres disease, I'm 25 and have been experiencing symptoms on and off since I was 17. Sounds like the type of tinnitus which I experience, all sorts of strange sounds can be heard, thumping, clicking, whooshing, almost like white noise sometimes it can be horrible and so distracting best thing to do is have tv or something on in the background in bed to help you get to sleep. It could just be the worsening of tinnitus, however. When I found out what it was however it made it so much easier to sleep as before I was worried about what it could be! Could also just be congestion, try antihistamines or decongestants. If you experience any other symptoms like vertigo dizziness or nausea it could be slightly more serious or long term like menieres or labrinthitis (if experienced more than once)and you should ask ur GP for a referral to ENT.

• Posted

Thank you for your reply. Il go to my GP to see if i can get a referral. Im not experiencing any vertigo or dizziness so hopefully its not long term.

Once again thanks for your help. smile

• Posted